DSC Logistics to present 2016 Thinkers & Movers Awards

DSC Logistics has announced the 2016 recipients of the Thinkers & Movers Award. They are Dr. David Closs, John H. McConnell Chaired Professor, Business Administration, Department of Supply Chain Management, Michigan State University; Dr. Robert C. Lieb, Professor, Supply Chain Management, Northeastern University; and, Linda Wood, Vice President, Operations Services, R.J. Reynolds.

Dr. Closs, the founding director of MSU’s Midland Research institute for Value Chain Creation, is being recognized for his leadership in the development of one of the top supply chain programs in the world and his work in research and publications providing insights that have shaped businesses and practices across the supply chain field.

Dr. Lieb is being recognized for his innovative research on third party logistics, his achievements in designing and implementing the first transportation and logistics program – both undergraduate and graduate levels – at Northeastern University, and his authorship of numerous books and articles in leading supply chain journals.

Ms. Wood is being recognized for her dedication to the advancement of supply chain as a critical business strategy, her vision of collaboration as a supply chain performance enabler, and her commitment to the advancement of women’s leadership in the supply chain field.

The 2016 Thinkers & Movers Awards will be presented on Monday, September 26, at a special event hosted by Ann Drake, CEO, Ed Bowersox, Chief Customer Officer, and the DSC Leadership team in conjunction with the annual conference of the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP) in Orlando.

The Thinkers & Movers Award was created by DSC Logistics in 2009 to recognize individuals and companies whose innovative leadership has resulted in groundbreaking supply chain understanding and practices. Since then, DSC has presented the award to outstanding practitioners, leaders and educators who’ve impacted the supply chain field.

Previous recipients of the Thinkers & Movers award are Ralph Drayer, Dr. Nancy Nix, Daan Delen, Nicholas LaHowchic, Don, Ed and John Bowersox, David Simchi-Levi, Stephan Haeckel, Debbie Lentz, Rick Blasgen, Rick Sather, the J.M. Smucker Supply Chain Team, Mike Duffy and Kathy Wengel.

If you would like to attend the Thinkers & Movers event at the Bohemian Hotel in Celebration, Florida, on Monday, September 26 at 7:00 pm, contact Mary Cline, DSC Logistics.

The [logistics center] team has always gone above & beyond in ensuring our ability to service our customers comes first. The team has always far exceeded the expectations of partnership between our companies.